Home  :  About the procedure  :  Locations  :  Message forums  :  Photo albums  :  Stories  :  Links

VEPTR Forums
VEPTR Forums
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Adult with Vacterls, new to the site
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   VEPTR Sites/Hospitals -> United statesMessage format

rockymarley
Posted 2010-08-09 5:40 PM (#39689)
Subject: Adult with Vacterls, new to the site

New User

Hello everybody,

My name is Haylie and i'm 24 years old. I have VACTERL or VATER syndrome and my main issue right now is that i have a 95 degree curve in my spine. I have had 2 surgeries already to try and correct it. When i was 3 years old they did a spinal fusion, which didn't work. When i was 16 I got titanium rods put in, but that also didn't work. I'm looking into getting the VEPTR done, but i'm concerned that it's only for children who haven't stopped growing yet. I was hoping to find another adult who has had the surgery done.

I first heard about the VEPTR from my previous ortho doctor right after I got my rods put in. However, I didn't really know what it was until the Vater Conference in 2009 and Dr. Campbell came and showed us what it was and what it could do.

As for my Vaters, I was born with tetrology of fallot, t/e fistula, missing left radius, lower functioning kidneys, and missing left thumb. I've had my heart fixed, my t/e fixed and even my left hand taken care of. All that's left is my back/lungs. Thanks for any information about this. Also, thanks to Johanna for keeping me informed!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Wendy
Posted 2010-08-09 8:35 PM (#39690 - in reply to #39689)
Subject: RE: Adult with Vacterls, new to the site

Extreme Veteran