Home  :  About the procedure  :  Locations  :  Message forums  :  Photo albums  :  Stories  :  Links

VEPTR Forums
VEPTR Forums
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

VEPTR Surgery Day
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Development and CareMessage format

p_hammer
Posted 2007-06-08 11:13 AM (#26929)
Subject: VEPTR Surgery Day

New User

Hello everyone. My name is Pat and I am a nurse to a very special little girl who is this minute in the OR having her VEPTR surgery! I have spent the last 3 years as her home care nurse and I am very curious about post op care. Could someone please enlighten me as to what to expect? I value your experience and knowledge and hope to benefit from your triumphs and trials. God is with you all and I pray for your children and for my little patient. God bless you.
Pat
Top of the page Bottom of the page
michelle wessollek
Posted 2007-06-08 12:16 PM (#26931 - in reply to #26929)
Subject: Re: VEPTR Surgery Day

Extreme Veteran

Hi Pat just want to welcome you to the vepter forums. My son has two bilateral vepter implants that go from his top rib to his pelvic one on each side.He wasnt able to have the rib implant because of hemmi vertabras.So I think recovery for him wasnt as saverie as most.I know that each child has different needs for the vepter so I think recaovery might be differt for some.After James had his surg we had to pick him up under the behind (not under his arms )kinda like a swoop. He was realy stiff in the back he bends at the knees and not whith his back. that was kinda hard for me to get used to.Well Iam rambleing But Iam sure there will be others that can answer your ?.this is a great place to come for support and friendships.
Wendy
Posted 2007-06-08 12:16 PM (#26932 - in reply to #26929)
Subject: RE: VEPTR Surgery Day

Extreme Veteran